Kosher Wine,scotch whiskey,bourbon
Kosher Wine - What Makes it Kosher?
Over the past few years one of the fastest growing sub markets of the wine industry has been Kosher wine, unfortunately for the general public there has also been a fairly significant misunderstanding about what makes a wine Kosher. To start it's important to understand that none of the ingredients in wine can make it non Kosher and that there is nothing structurally different about Kosher compared with the other wine available within the industry. The major difference occurs with whom handles the ingredients and bottle. For a wine to be considered Kosher, there is a series of special rules that do not govern any other Kosher food. For example, for a wine to be Kosher it needs to be created, bottled, handled and poured by Jews. If anyone else handles the wine, or pours a glass the wine becomes non Kosher
The History of Scotch Whiskey
Scotch is one of the most consumed alcoholic beverages of all time, after all it has been around for hundred of years however, little thought is usually given to the actual origin of this popular drink. As the name suggests, Scotch was originally produced in Scotland by Friar John Cor. After distillation was introduced by Scottish monks in 1494, fine scotch became a popular drink.
To the dismay of Scotch and other whiskey drinkers, whiskey was first taxed in 1644. This caused a rise in the number of what we would today call "bootleggers" who made and sold Scotch whiskey illegally. Later in 1823, the Scottish Parliament made it easier for one to own a licensed distillery and harder for illegal whiskey stills to stay in business. This began the modern production of Scotch whiskey.